Gott Nytt År

January 1, 2012.

I know…this is the first day of a new year. I feel like I’m completely out of step with most of the world if I don’t acknowledge that. After all, thinking about a new year is rather the same feeling as writing that first word into a brand new notebook, you know? You have no idea what will be in that notebook…no idea how long it will take you to fill said notebook. Or if it will get lost, or burned or soaked before you can finish it.

I love new notebooks, and I have to say…I’m not sure I’ve ever finished one. Guess that says a bit about me, no?

The air is thick with resolutions and good intentions on this day of the year. My one resolution today is not to make any resolutions today.

Hehe.

I have been too busy making all sorts of resolutions for the past two months. I don’t need this day or this new calendar to make those more meaningful. I think I’ve overwhelmed myself a bit with all the resolutions I’ve made. Whatever happens…it’s going to be a busy year!

I plan to:

Learn to play that uke I bought.

And don’t forget about my beloved guitar while I’m at it.

Knit. A sweater. This year. Yes…I said that.

Crochet. Snowflakes to cover all those mysterious holes in the scarf I’m knitting.

Learn Swedish.

And then Hawaiian.

Work with photoshop…taking a class coming up soon and I’m so excited!

Complete every single video project I’ve started.

Exercise regularly so that I can walk up the hill from the lake without getting out of breath. Does that sound pathetic? It is.

Cut way back on sugar. WAY back. *gulp*

Organize the little house completely.

Organize the kitchen here in Grandma’s house.

Clean out the garage.

Go through the things in the store-room.

Finish the bathroom at the little house…and the repairs here in the dining room and living room. (I HAVE to write SOMETHING I can cross off soon!)

Sing more.

Write. Every day. Something.

Go visit Tamara.

Read more books. Good-for-me-exercise-my-brain kind of books.

Memorize scripture.

Stay in touch with my friends better. I have been awful.

Make new friends.

Be open to new experiences.

Be surrendered to God’s leading.

Every day, look at something…at least one thing…that I normally take for granted and see it as if I have never seen it before.

The list could go on and on and on. These are just the things that are on my mind…every day. Whew! It feels good to write them all down. I should do that more often. I’m not a list maker. I only lose the lists I do try to make.

Make lists and keep them. As in…don’t lose them.

I have to say, I’m afraid of 2012. And no…it doesn’t have anything to do with Mayan prophecies or that movie “2012”. But I have a feeling it’s going to be a very unsettling year.

A year from today, can we all look back on this post and laugh together about how silly I’m being? Yes? Okay then! It’s a date.

Good thing I’m not making any resolutions today, huh?

10 thoughts on “Gott Nytt År

  1. Glückliches Neujahr! < Translated: Happy New Year! My German blood is coming out there 🙂

    I thought I was the only one not making resolutions today 😉 For us as God's children, whatever trial or tribulation may befall, this year promises to be filled with God's goodness, mercy, and protection! May the Lord ABUNDANTLY bless you bless you this year and all other years that follow… and give you the strength to fulfill all those resolutions! 🙂

    "But the Lord is faithful, who shall stablish you, and keep you from evil." 2 Thessalonians 3:3

  2. Love this post, Sage and I love you!!! I spent all day in bed yesterday with a migraine because the night before I ate chocolate…luscious Ritter chocolate with marzipan… and my resolution…never to eat chocolate again, or if I do just one teeny weeny bite…

    Anyway…being miserably sick in bed all day I totally missed the “New Year”, but I don’t believe it is the new year anyway…it’ s just another one of man’s distortions of what God ordained and I think God’s New Year is around the Vernal Equinox…so you see I didn’t really miss the new year at all…

    The earth is the LORD’S, and the fulness thereof; the world, and they that dwell therein. Psalms 24:1

    1. I’m so sorry you were sick, Mom! Are you completely over it today?

      I was talking to Jack yesterday about how it doesn’t make sense to have the new year start on January 1st. It just doesn’t. It seems much more appropriate to celebrate the new year on the first day of spring instead of right after the beginning of winter!

Leave a Reply

