Hot Thoughts

It’s hot. 
So hot that if my brother doesn’t gather the eggs at least twice a day, some of them will be soft boiled when we crack them open. Not joking. Not exaggerating. Ask my mom if you don’t believe me. 
So hot that people can’t talk about anything else. And since there is nothing to say that will help the situation…and because it’s really hard to think intelligent thoughts when your brains are turning to jerky inside your head…they feel bound to ask the question. Yes, THE question. “Hot ‘nough for ya?”
So hot that cows are giving already dry, powdered milk. 
That IS an exaggeration.
So hot that the lake here is reaching temperatures of 93 in the afternoons. 
Truth.  
So hot that people are pulling precooked fish out of said lake. 
Another exaggeration.
It’s so hot that when we go outside, even for a few minutes, we come in flushed and exhausted. The air is so heavy. It sucks the life out of you. The very breath. It’s just so…dense. Yes, dense. Like a black hole. So hot. So dense. So crushing. So heavy. Very much like a black hole.
I thought maybe this video would help give some perspective. You know…remind us that we are just itty bitty people on a smallish planet that’s part of a big galaxy in a HUGE universe. Did it help you?
It didn’t help me. 
But this evening, in the middle of this oppressive heat, I heard booming thunder. I mean BOOMING. Cracking across the sky like a bowling ball thrown by a big, burly veteran bowler that looks like a mountain man and has been number one on his bowling league for 20 years. I’m not just talking about a strike. I’m talking about a “BLOW those bowling pins to outer-space” kind of a strike. That’s what the thunder sounded like. 
And then again. 
And again. 
And each time, my heart responded with life. The life that was being snuffed out by the relentless aforementioned heat. Of course I couldn’t stay inside. Not with that powerful, defiant, alive VOICE of awesomeness calling me. I stepped out of the air conditioning and into the fierceness of the summer world. I told myself that being out there was worth the chigger bites I might end up with. (I may feel very differently about that tomorrow).
There was a constant, turbulent rumble in the billowing clouds…as if the storm were raging all inside of itself. I wanted it to open up. I wanted it to pour down that much needed moisture, but also to feel that sweet release that comes in a storm. I wanted relief from the blazing bubble that we are trapped in. 
As I watched, I became absorbed in the clouds, and I felt myself longing with all of myself to be right in the middle of it. Wouldn’t it be amazing to be transported up into such awesomeness! Yes. It would be amazing. 
And I was reminded of that verse in Psalm 19…
And that helped. 

Psalm 19

The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork.
Day unto day uttereth speech, and night unto night sheweth knowledge.
There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard.
Their line is gone out through all the earth, and their words to the end of the world. In them hath he set a tabernacle for the sun,
Which is as a bridegroom coming out of his chamber, and rejoiceth as a strong man to run a race.
His going forth is from the end of the heaven, and his circuit unto the ends of it: and there is nothing hid from the heat thereof.
The law of the LORD is perfect, converting the soul: the testimony of the LORD is sure, making wise the simple.
The statutes of the LORD are right, rejoicing the heart: the commandment of the LORD is pure, enlightening the eyes.
The fear of the LORD is clean, enduring for ever: the judgments of the LORD are true and righteous altogether.
More to be desired are they than gold, yea, than much fine gold: sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb.
Moreover by them is thy servant warned: and in keeping of them there is great reward.
Who can understand his errors? cleanse thou me from secret faults.
Keep back thy servant also from presumptuous sins; let them not have dominion over me: then shall I be upright, and I shall be innocent from the great transgression.
Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.


7 thoughts on “Hot Thoughts

  1. I can relate soooo well to this post!And I felt the same way when I heard the thunder hear…my exact thought was that sound makes me feel alive! Think we are related or something? ;)Love the collage and this post!

  2. It has been incredibly hot this summer, but at least you can find humor in it and enjoy it anyway. 🙂 Some of y'alls eggs are really getting soft boiled? While gathering ours last night, that thought did cross my mind because of how hot the eggs felt but I didn't know if it was actually possible. Maybe I should start getting them more often since I don't think my customers would appreciate pre-cooked eggs. :)Those clouds in the photos are so beautiful, even more so after reading the Psalm you posted.

Leave a Reply

