Peanut Butter Pie Day…or…The Case of the Missing Cream Cheese

A brother of mine had a birthday a couple of days ago. And Tera made Frozen Peanut Butter Pie to celebrate. 
 
I wasn’t there. 
 
Sometimes that’s easier to handle than other times. Sometimes realizing my best friends are all a state away doing fun and amazing things and living life without me makes me a little bit blue…and leaves me craving things. Like hugs. And Frozen Peanut Butter Pie. 
 
So, instead of sitting here feeling sorry for myself, I decided to make a pie for the Ancient Ones and myself. And, because Facebook makes these things so easy, I declared today, June 2, the Official Peanut Butter Pie Day.
 
I talk to home a lot. Every other day or so, I’d say. Sometimes every day. Lately I feel myself resisting the urge to call with every single question I have. Gardening questions for Mom and cooking questions for Sarah. I call…but not every single time. 
 
For instance, today…
I went to town and picked up ingredients for my pie. Now, I distinctly remember grabbing an 8 ounce package of cream cheese off of the shelf at the local grocery store and putting it in the cart. Distinctly. But…when I got home I couldn’t find it anywhere. I checked the car. Twice. I checked the fridge, where it would naturally have been put away,  and other places in the kitchen that would have been insane to put a package of cream cheese. It’s gone. The only conclusion I can come to is that someone stole it out of my cart when I wasn’t looking. Gotta watch those shoppers out there. The world is a dangerous place. 
 
Anyway…I had already made the crust, whipped the cream, opened the can of Eagle brand. And we had 3 lousy ounces of cream cheese left over from weeks ago instead of the 8 the recipe calls for. I fought the urge to panic. I determined that I would NOT drive 30 minutes back into town to buy another 8 ounces of that soft, white, mild stuff. But here I was, officially announcing that this is THE DAY for peanut butter pie! What kind of a mighty leader would I be if I backed out now??? 
 
What was I going to do???? 
 
Call Sarah!!!! She would know what to do. After all, she’s the master chef!!! Yes!!!!
 
“NO!!! Come on, Sage…you can figure this out yourself. What are you going to do? Pull yourself together. Think, think, think…”
 
So I opened the fridge, grabbed the 6 ounce container of Chobani yogurt, peeled back the seal, closed my eyes and dumped it in the mixer with the pathetic 3 ounces of cream cheese. 
 
I’ve tasted the filling. It’s wonderful. ELATION!!!! This is how chefs who make up their own recipes feel! This is how generals who make the right decisions on battlefields and conquer whole countries feel! YES! Who needs 8 ounces of cream cheese anyway?




Still, I wonder where that package is???
Happy Peanut Butter Pie Day, everyone!!!
May your slice be cool and creamy, your Oreo crust not soggy and your chocolate fudge as good as Slickepott.
8 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Pie Day…or…The Case of the Missing Cream Cheese

  1. Love reading your blog, Sage! And someone unloaded their groceries earlier and was probably thinking, "I don't remember buying cream cheese. Where did this come from?" 😉

  2. Hmmm… my 4 sisters and I just had oreos, fudge, and peanut butter but not in the form of a pie but rather atop ice cream. Does this still qualify for participating in Peanut Butter Pie Day?? Let me know if it doesn't I will whip together a peanut butter pie post-haste!!Call home every 17 minutes, it makes those at home feel needed! Just be sure to have a good cell phone plan 😉

  3. Janet…I paid for that cream cheese. Checked the receipt. It has yet to show up. I still can't understand what happened to it!Amber, I wish I could!!! Rachel, that totally qualifies…but maybe I should say it didn't to give you a good excuse to whip one up! ;)JC!!! You should make one! Thanks for the comment!Thanks, Mom! ❤

Leave a Reply

