The Ancient Ones

I have spent quite a bit of this year with my grandparents. I call them “The Ancient Ones”. They laugh when I do…but really, at 91 and 88 they’re older than most people I know. The name of this blog was almost “Adventures with the Ancient Ones”, but I decided I don’t want to be confined to just that.
I am very pleased to introduce you to “The Ancient Ones”.
Jack first. He’s the 88 year old. I call him Jack because he is my step-grandfather. My grandfather died before I was born, and Jack has been married to Grandma for as long as I can remember. Still, I call him Jack.
Jack was born in Arkansas. He loves beans and cornbread, biscuits and ham, peanut butter, pineapple, and ice cream. He lied about his age so he could join the Navy at 17, and the Navy took him through a couple of wars and all around the world. He was a pilot. He likes everything just so, and is only comfortable when he knows he is as prepared as possible. For anything. And everything.
Grandma is my mother’s mother. Mormor. She came to this country from Sweden when she was in her 20’s. I wrote a blog about her here: Mormor’s Loom. She likes smoked salmon and strong cheeses and cinnamon rolls with her coffee. She’s the 91 year old…and yesterday she swam 7 laps at the local indoor pool. Everyone around here thinks she is amazing. I do too.
There, now you’ve met them and become good friends. There is a storm blowing in, and my windows are all open.
Till next time!
3 thoughts on “The Ancient Ones

  1. I backtracked through your postings as this is my way
    of understanding where a blog originated and what it’s
    aim was, even though we all change from one theme or
    another as the blog evolves… This posting is really nice
    being that I was looking at a much more recent posting
    with photographs of ‘The Ancient One’s’ as you call them
    and so finding this shows that your blogging has certainly
    added to your enjoyment here in WordPress, which is a
    great place in which to explore, find new and interesting
    peeps and just enjoy the break from everyday life 🙂

    Have a wondrously exciting day today
    my friend and enjoy your writing and art 🙂

    Androgoth

      1. You are welcome and I will try to
        call back over the weekend and read
        some more of your postings 🙂

        Androgoth

Leave a Reply

